MeasuringMIUAccident
thick blue gradient line

Biography

Tony Loparco (Director)

Tony LoparcoTony Loparco began serving as director of Ontario's Special Investigations Unit in October of 2013. He is the civilian oversight agency's ninth full-term director since the office was established in 1990, and is responsible for all of the investigations into incidents of serious injury, death, and allegations of sexual assault involving police officers in the province. Under the Police Services Act, the director causes criminal charges to be laid against police officers where warranted by the evidence. Loparco came to the Unit with more than 23 years of experience in the justice system.

Born in Milan, Italy, Loparco immigrated to Canada as a child and grew up in Toronto. After graduating from Dalhousie University Law School, he was admitted to the bar in Alberta in 1987 and then began working for a major civil law firm and as a clerk in the Federal Court. In 1989, he was called to the bar in Ontario and became an assistant Crown Attorney in Scarborough in 1990. Loparco spent several years as the president of the Ontario Crown Attorneys' Association. In this capacity, he intervened on behalf of the association for numerous cases, some which went to the Supreme Court of Canada.

Loparco was promoted to head the Scarborough Crown Attorney's office in 2003. During his 10-year stint, he prosecuted many serious cases on behalf of the province, including high-profile murder charges and gang-related cases.

Loparco also played a key role in several initiatives aimed at reducing the number of youth in the criminal justice system. Under his watch, the Scarborough office created youth justice committees consisting of community members who interact with young persons accused of minor crimes as a way of keeping them out of the court system.

Loparco has been invited to speak for various organizations, including the Criminal Lawyers' Association, the Ontario Crown Attorneys' Association, CACOLE and the Law Clerks of the Court of Appeal Speaker Series. He was on the Treasurer's Liaison Committee, was a member of the Special Committee on Lawyers' Duties with Respect to Property Relevant to a Crime or Offence, and was a member of the Chief Justice of Ontario's Advisory Committee on Professionalism/Civility.

MeasuringGroupForensic lab
thick blue gradient line

Biographie

Tony Loparco (Directeur)

Tony LoparcoTony Loparco a été nommé directeur de l’Unité des enquêtes spéciales de l’Ontario en octobre 2013. Neuvième directeur de l’organisme de surveillance civile depuis sa création en 1990, il a sous sa responsabilité toutes les enquêtes sur les incidents qui mettent en cause des agents de police et qui sont à l’origine de blessures graves, de décès ou d’allégation d’agression sexuelle. En vertu de la Loi sur les services policiers, le directeur fait déposer des accusations criminelles contre des policiers lorsque la preuve le justifie. M. Loparco possède plus de 23 ans d’expérience dans le système judiciaire.

Né à Milan, en Italie, M. Loparco a émigré au Canada lorsqu’il était enfant et a grandi à Toronto. Diplômé de la faculté de droit de l’Université Dalhousie, il a été admis au barreau de l’Alberta en 1987, puis commença a travaillé dans un important cabinet de droit civil et à titre de greffier à la Cour fédérale. En 1989, il est admis au barreau de l’Ontario et devient procureur adjoint de la Couronne à Scarborough en 1990. M. Loparco a occupé pendant plusieurs années le poste de président de l’Association des procureurs de la Couronne de l’Ontario. En cette qualité, il est intervenu au nom de l’association dans nombre de cas, dont certains ont été portés devant la Cour suprême du Canada.

M. Loparco a été promu à la tête du Bureau du procureur de la Couronne de Scarborough en 2003. Pendant ses 10 années de service à ce poste, il s'est occupé des poursuites menées contre de nombreux dossiers importants au nom de la province, dont des accusations de meurtre hautement médiatisées et des affaires de bandes criminalisées.

M. Loparco a également joué un rôle de premier plan dans plusieurs initiatives destinées à réduire le nombre de jeunes aux prises avec le système de justice criminelle. Sous sa gouverne, le bureau de Scarborough a créé des comités de justice pour la jeunesse composés de membres de la communauté qui interagissent avec des jeunes accusés de délits mineurs dans le but de les garder hors du système judiciaire.

M. Loparco a été invité à s’exprimer au nom de divers organismes, incluant la Criminal Lawyers' Association, l’Ontario Crown Attorneys' Association, CACOLE et la Law Clerks of the Court of Appeal Speaker Series. Il a siégé au Comité de liaison du trésorier, et a été membre du Special Committee on Lawyers' Duties with Respect to Property Relevant to a Crime or Offence et du Comité consultatif du juge en chef de l'Ontario sur le professionnalisme.