GroupForensic labMeasuring
thick blue gradient line

Past to Present: History Timeline

Established in 1990, the SIU celebrated its 20th anniversary on September 2010. In its 20 year history, the Unit has been the subject of controversy and scrutiny.  Along the way many events, Directors, and external reviews have shaped the organization into what it is today. The timeline below presents a brief historical perspective of these influences.

^ Return to Decade List

1980s

  •  Rising Concerns for Police Accountability

    In the mid-1980's, a series of interactions involving police and youth from visible minority groups raised concerns about the manner in which police shootings were being handled.  Police services investigated themselves, or in some instances, another police service was assigned to conduct the investigation. The public sentiment was that such internal investigations lacked the necessary objectivity required of policing. 

  • December 1988  The Task Force on Race Relations and Policing

    In 1988 the fatal shootings of Lester Donaldson on August 9, in Toronto, and Michael Wade Lawson, on December 8, in Peel Region, solidified action from Ontario's black community. Community action resulted in Mr. Clare Lewis being appointed by the Solicitor General of Ontario to Chair the "Task Force on Race Relations and Policing" in December 1988.


  • April 1989  The Clare Lewis Report The Clare Lewis Report

    April 11, 1989, the Task Force submitted its report which made 57 recommendations for changes in the law on the use of force by the police and on police training, as well as a recommendation to create an independent investigative body with the power to lay criminal charges when warranted.
    Contact us to request the Clare Lewis Report on the Special Reports.

^ Return to Decade List

1990s

  • August 1990  The SIU is Proclaimed The SIU is Proclaimed

    Justice John Osler, becomes the SIU's first Director and until June 1992 would work diligently to establish the fledgling organization.


  • April 1991  Serious Injury

    In consultation and agreement with the Ministry of the Solicitor General and the Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP) the definition of "Serious Injury" is set out.

  • May 1992  Yonge Street Riots

    On May 4, 1992 the Black Action Defence Committee (BADC) organized a demonstration to protest the murder of Raymond Lawrence. Dubbed the “Yonge St. Riots” by the media, 1000 people demonstrated in a peaceful march that began at the U.S. Consulate and ended with 30 arrests, 200 windows smashed on Yonge St. and City Hall, and a hundred thousand dollars in damages. Hundreds of black youth and others vandalized the Yonge St. strip and fought with police in the streets.


  • June 1992  William R. Wolski, Interim Director William R. Wolski, Interim Director

    William R. Wolski is appointed Interim Director for a two month term

  • June 1992  Stephen Lewis Report

    June 1992, Stephen Lewis, advisor on race relations to then Premier Bob Rae (following the Yonge Street Riots), releases his report titled “Racism in Ontario: Report to the Premier by Stephen Lewis”.  The report recommended policing reforms, including some directly relating to the SIU. A concern was raised about the SIU’s credibility, and Lewis recommended that the Unit be accountable to the Attorney General, who is responsible for the provincial justice system rather than the Solicitor General, who was responsible policing. The Lewis report also recommended an increase in funding.

    Contact us to request the Stephen Lewis Report on the Special Reports.


  • September 1992  Howard Morton, Director Howard Morton, Director

    Howard Morton is appointed as the next SIU Director. Mr Morton would stay in this role until March 1995.

  • April 1993  SIU is brought under the Ministry of the Attorney General.

    SIU moves from the Solicitor General to the Ministry of the Attorney General

  • March 1995  Dana Venner, Interim Director Dana Venner, Interim Director

    Dana Venner is appointed as Interim Director for a seven month term

  • October 1995  Graham Reynolds, Director Graham Reynolds, Director

    Graham Reynolds is appointed Director for an eight month term

  • June 1996  James Stewart, Interim Director James Stewart, Interim Director

    James Stewart is appointed Interim Director for a 3 month term

  • September 1996  Andre Marin, Director Andre Marin, Director

    Andre Marin is appointed Director and would remain in this position until June 7, 1998

  • November 1996  McLeod Report

    Roderick McLeod is appointed to conduct another review of police oversight and the system for public complaints about police. The report titled: "A Report and Recommendations on Amendments to the Police Services Act Respecting Civilian Oversight of Police" called for regulatory requirements to be established for police cooperation with the SIU. However no changes were made to the SIU.

    Contact us to request the McLeod Report on the Special Reports.

  • September 1997  Adams Review

    The Attorney and Solicitor Generals appoint former Superior Court Justice, the Honourable George W. Adams, Q.C. to consult with community and police organizations on ways to improve the relationship between the SIU and police. The report focused on concerns over timely SIU notification of incidents by police, control of incident scenes pending SIU arrival, and timely co-operation of police officers involved in the incidents.


  • May 1998  Adams I Report

    May 14, 1998 the "Consultation Report of the Honourable George W. Adams, Q.C. to the Attorney General and Solicitor General Concerning Police Cooperation with the Special Investigations Unit" (Adams I)  is released. The Report made 25 recommendations, the most important being that the SIU be resourced in a manner commensurate with its important mandate and that a detailed regulatory framework for SIU investigations be established.

  • June 1998  Leslie Chapin, Interim Director Leslie Chapin, Interim Director

    Leslie Chapin is appointed Interim Director for a six month term

  • January 1999  Ontario Regulation 673/98 (Now Ontario Regulation 267/10)

    Jan 1999, following Adams I, the Ontario government enacted "Conduct and Duties of Police Officers Respecting Investigations by the Special Investigations Unit, O. Reg. 673/98". The Regulation incorporated many of Mr. Adams’ recommendations, and set out the conduct and duties of police officers involved in SIU investigations.   Under the regulation a failure to comply with the regulatory requirements became a misconduct offence under the Police Services Act.  In addition to the Regulation the Unit's funding was increased to $5.3 million.  This marked a new beginning for the SIU.

    Ontario Regulation 267/10



  • January 1999  Peter Tinsley, Director Peter Tinsley, Director

    Peter Tinsley is appointed Director and would remain in the position until April 2003.

^ Return to Decade List

2000s

  • May 2000  New Mississauga Headquarters New Mississauga Headquarters

    The Unit moves from its Front street offices in downtown Toronto to a new 18,000 sqft space located in Mississauga. The location allowed for convenient access to major highways and the Pearson International Airport, thus improving the Units ability to mobilize investigators and respond quickly to incident notification. Along with the move the organization is restructured with the creation of new administrative and investigative positions.

  • May 2000  Independent Forensic Investigations Independent Forensic Investigations

    The Unit spends approximately half a million dollars to redefine the SIU Forensic Identification Section (FIS). The process involved recruiting a highly qualified team of forensic identification supervisors and investigators and collision re-constructionists. Also a new forensics lab was designed and equipped, complete with state of the art digital photographic and video equipment, multiple and separate case rooms, drying cabinets, a fuming cabinet, chemical oven, and Total Station location devices.  In addition to this the forensics team is equipped with four major case vehicles which are positioned strategically around the province.

    The SIU currently runs a forensic identification section which matches in capability with all but the largest police services in Ontario.  While the SIU continues to rely on external expert services from organizations like the Centre of Forensic Sciences and the Coroners Office, the Unit's independent forensic section bolsters independence and the integrity of our investigations.


  • February 2002  Director’s Resource Committee Director’s Resource Committee

    The Director’s Resource Committee (DRC) is established in an effort to foster a wide range of communication links and provide a regular forum for communications between the SIU and the broader community.  The committee meets twice annually with a focus on both general operations and specific issues. In 2010, following the October 19th, 2009 creation of the OIPRD, the respective Directors of each organization have made a move to hold these meetings jointly. The DRC is comprised of community leaders from various ethnic and social interest groups.

    Director's Resource Committee


  • August 2002  Adams Review II

    In August 2002, the Attorney General once again appointed Mr. Adams to conduct a consultative review aimed at evaluating the implementation of the 1999 SIU reforms

  • February 2003  Adams II Report

    In February 2003, Adams II: "Review Report on the Special Investigations Unit Reforms Prepared for the Attorney General of Ontario" is released. The report found that increased public funding and the regulatory changes had been successful in building police and community confidence in the SIU and in providing an effective regime for SIU investigations.

  • April 2003  John Sutherland, Interim Director John Sutherland, Interim Director

    John Sutherland is appointed as Interim Director and is later appointed to the Director’s position in December 2003. Mr. Sutherland remained in this position until April 2004.

  • April 2004  James Cornish, Interim Director James Cornish, Interim Director

    James Cornish, is appointed as Interim Director of the SIU. He would later be appointed as Director in December 2004 and remain in the position until October 2008.

  • April 2006  Affected Persons Coordinator

    The SIU creates the Affected Persons Coordinator position to respond in a meaningful way to the social needs of those persons impacted by SIU investigations. 

    Affected Persons Coordinator page.

  • 2007  Mission, Vision, Values

    The Unit formalizes its Vision, Mission, and Values as a result of the Balanced Scorecard Process.
    Vision, Mission and Values page.

  • August 2008  Fleet Upgrade Fleet Upgrade

    The Forensic Identification fleet is upgraded with four new Dodge Sprinter Vans. The vans are fully equipped with forensic equipment but also provide increased utility, improved fuel efficiency and greater payload capacity.  These vehicles are stationed strategically throughout the province in Kingston, Orillia, Kitchener, and the SIU head office in Mississauga. 

  • September 2008  Ombudsman’s Report

    Ombudsman Andre Marin releases “Oversight Unseen: Investigation into the Special Investigations Unit's Operational Effectiveness and Credibility”, a systemic report on the operations of the SIU.

  • October 2008  Ian Scott, Director Ian Scott, Director

    Ian Scott is appointed as Director


  • December 2008  Civilian Investigators

    The Unit creates two junior investigative positions to enhance the civilian investigative capacity. These positions are filled by two civilian investigators with no former police background. In addition, the SIU also created two new Lead investigator positions to help address the increasing caseload.

  • May 2009  The Outreach Coordinator

    The SIU hires its first Outreach Coordinator to address the need to actively engage with Ontario's many diverse communities. The Outreach Coordinator works with community groups and special interest organizations to raise awareness about the Unit, its mandate and investigative process. The role also aims to identify areas of concern and to work proactively to address these issues to build stronger relations with communities.


  • December 2009  The Mobile Command Unit The Mobile Command Unit

    The SIU acquires the Mobile Command Unit (MCU).  The MCU allows investigators to have a place to meet and strategize while on scene, to conduct witness interviews and the ability to maintain a visible presence independent of police. The 31 X 9 foot unit is fully equipped with AV interviewing technology to ensure timely processing and collection of witness accounts. 


^ Return to Decade List

2010s

  • 6 April, 2011  The LeSage Report

    On April 6, 2011, the Attorney General received recommendations from the Honourable Patrick LeSage, former Chief Justice of the Superior Court, concerning matters involving the Special Investigations Unit (SIU) and police in Ontario. The Report, outlined recommendations pertaining, to the definition of "Serious Injuries", police officers’ right to counsel, and Officer’s notes.

  • 14 December, 2011  Ombudsman's Review Report 2011: Oversight Undermined

    On December 14, 2011, Ombudsman André Marin released his follow-up report Oversight Undermined. With respect to the SIU's progress, Mr. Marin stated "based on my review to date, I am satisfied that the SIU has made significant strides to reorient its operations…” The report focused on the Ministry of the Attorney General’s implementation of recommendations outlined in the 2008 Ombudsman report. Mr. Marin reiterated a number of those recommendations aimed at the Ministry and the Government of Ontario. Many of these focus on the need for legislative reform.

Forensic labKnivesMIU
thick blue gradient line

Historique de l'UES

Créée en 1990, l’UES a célébré son 20e anniversaire en septembre 2010. Au cours de ses 20 années d’existence, l’Unité a fait l’objet de nombreuses analyses et controverses. Au cours du temps, de nombreux événements, directeurs et examens externes ont contribué à faire de l’organisation ce qu’elle est aujourd’hui. Le calendrier ci-dessous présente un bref historique de ces influences. 

^ Retour à la liste des décennies

Les années 1980

  •  Inquiétudes relatives à la responsabilité de la police

    Vers le milieu des années 1980, une série d’affrontements entre la police et des jeunes appartenant à des groupes de minorité visible ont soulevé des inquiétudes concernant la façon dont les tirs de balle par la police étaient traités. Les services de police enquêtaient eux-mêmes sur les incidents les concernant ou, dans certains cas, l’enquête était confiée à un autre service de police. Le public avait le sentiment que ce genre d’enquêtes à l’interne ne garantissait pas l’objectivité nécessaire.

  • Décembre 1988  Le Groupe d'étude sur les relations entre la police et les minorités raciales

    En 1988, deux fusillades mortelles, celle de Lester Donaldson, le 9 août, à Toronto, et celle de Michael Wade Lawson, le 8 décembre, dans la région de Peel, ont été le catalyseur des revendications de la communauté noire de l’Ontario. En réponse à ces revendications, en décembre 1988, le solliciteur général de l’Ontario a nommé M. Clare Lewis à la présidence du « Groupe d'étude sur les relations entre la police et les minorités raciales ».

^ Retour à la liste des décennies

Les années 1990

  • Août 1990  Création de l’UES Création de l’UES

    Le juge John Osler devient le premier directeur de l’UES et, jusqu’en juin 1992, travaille avec diligence à mettre sur pied l’organisation encore balbutiante.

  • Avril 1991  Blessure grave

    En consultation avec le ministère du Solliciteur général et l’Association des chefs de police de l’Ontario (OACP), et avec leur accord, la définition de « blessure grave » est établie.

  • Mai 1992  Les émeutes de la rue Yonge

    Le 4 mai 1992, le Black Action Defence Committee (comité de défense de la communauté noire) organise une manifestation pour protester contre le meurtre de Raymond Lawrence. Cette manifestation, appelée par les médias « les émeutes de la rue Yonge », avait commencé par une marche pacifique d’un millier de personnes depuis le consulat des États-Unis et s’était conclue par 30 arrestations, 200 fenêtres ou vitrines brisées sur la rue Yonge et à l’hôtel de ville et des centaines de milliers de dollars en dégâts matériels. Des centaines de personnes, notamment de jeunes noirs, ont vandalisé cette section de la rue Yonge et se sont affrontées à la police dans les rues. Images des émeutes de la rue Yonge

  • Juin 1992  William R. Wolski, directeur intérimaire William R. Wolski, directeur intérimaire

    Le juge William R. Wolski est nommé directeur intérimaire pour une période de deux mois.

  • Juin 1992  Le rapport Stephen Lewis

    En juin 1992 (à la suite des émeutes de la rue Yonge), Stephen Lewis, nommé conseiller en relations interraciales de Bob Rae, premier ministre de l’époque, présente son rapport intitulé « Rapport de Stephen Lewis sur les relations interraciales en Ontario ».  Ce rapport recommande des réformes dans le domaine du maintien de l’ordre, dont certaines touchent directement l’UES. La crédibilité de l’UES étant remise en compte, M. Lewis recommande que l’Unité relève du procureur général, qui est responsable du système judiciaire provincial, plutôt que du solliciteur général, qui est aussi responsable des services policiers. Le rapport Lewis recommande aussi d’augmenter le budget de l’UES.

  • Septembre 1992  Howard Morton, Directeur Howard Morton, Directeur

    Howard Morton est nommé directeur de l’UES, poste qu’il occupera jusqu’en mars 1995.

  • Avril 1993  L’UES relève désormais du ministère du Procureur général.

    L’UES passe du ministère du Solliciteur général au  ministère du Procureur général.

  • Mars 1995  Dana Venner, directrice intérimaire Dana Venner, directrice intérimaire

    Dana Venner est nommée directrice intérimaire pour une période de 7 mois

  • Octobre 1995  Graham Reynolds, directeur intérimaire Graham Reynolds, directeur intérimaire

    Graham Reynolds est nommé directeur intérimaire pour une période de huit mois.

  • Juin 1996  James Stewart, directeur intérimaire James Stewart, directeur intérimaire

    James Stewart est nommé directeur intérimaire pour une période de trois mois

  • Septembre 1996  André Marin, directeur André Marin, directeur

    André Marin est nommé directeur, poste qu’il occupera jusqu’au 7 juin 1998.

  • Novembre 1996  Le rapport McLeod

    Roderick McLeod est chargé de procéder à un autre examen de la surveillance de la police et du régime de traitement des plaintes du public contre la police. Dans son rapport, intitulé « A report and recommendations on amendments to the Police Services Act respecting civilian oversight of police », M. McLeod préconise l’adoption de dispositions réglementaires pour contraindre la police à coopérer avec l’UES. Néanmoins, aucune modification touchant l’UES n’est apportée à ce moment-là.

  • Septembre 1997  Examen par le juge Adams

    Le procureur général et le solliciteur général demandent à George Adams, ancien juge de la Cour supérieure, de mener des consultations auprès des organisations communautaires et policières afin de déterminer comment améliorer les rapports entre l’UES et la police. Son examen porte notamment les problèmes suivants : notification en temps opportun des incidents à l’UES par la police, protection des lieux de l’incident en attendant l’arrivée des enquêteurs de l’UES et coopération en temps opportun des policiers impliqués dans les incidents

  • Mai 1998  Premier rapport Adams

    Le 14 mai 1998, le « Rapport Adams I» est publié. Dans ce rapport, M. Adams formule 25 recommandations, dont les plus importantes sont de doter l’UES des ressources nécessaires pour s’acquitter de son important mandat et d’établir un cadre réglementaire détaillé pour les enquêtes de l’UES.

  • Juin 1998  Leslie Chapin, directrice intérimaire Leslie Chapin, directrice intérimaire

    Leslie Chapin est nommée directrice intérimaire pour une période de six mois.

  • Janvier 1999  Règlement de l’Ontario 673/98 (devenu depuis lors le Règlement de l’Ontario 267/10)

    En janvier 1999, à la suite du rapport Adams I, le gouvernement de l’Ontario adopte le Règl. de l’Ont. 673/98, « Conduite et obligations des agents de police en ce qui concerne les enquêtes de l'Unité des enquêtes spéciales ». Ce règlement met en œuvre plusieurs des recommandations de M. Adams et prescrit la conduite et les obligations des agents de police concernés par les enquêtes de l’UES. Aux termes de ce règlement, un agent de police qui ne respecte pas une disposition du règlement est coupable d’inconduite en vertu de la Loi sur les services policiers. Parallèlement à ce règlement, le budget de l’Unité est augmenté de 5,3 millions de dollars. Ceci marque un nouveau départ pour l’UES.

  • Janvier 1999  Peter Tinsley, Directeur Peter Tinsley, Directeur

    Peter Tinsley est nommé directeur, poste qu’il occupera jusqu’en avril 2003.

^ Retour à la liste des décennies

Les années 2000

  • Mai 2000  Nouveau bureau central à Mississauga Nouveau bureau central à Mississauga

    L’Unité déménage de ses bureaux situés sur la rue Front, au centre-ville de Toronto, dans de nouveaux locaux de 18 000 pieds carrés, à Mississauga. Avec un accès plus facile aux grands axes routiers et à l’aéroport Pearson International, ce nouvel emplacement permet à l’Unité de mobiliser plus facilement ses enquêteurs et d’intervenir plus rapidement lorsqu’elle est avisée d’un incident. Parallèlement à ce déménagement, la structure de l’Unité est modifiée par l’ajout de nouveaux postes pour l’administration et les enquêtes. 

  • Mai 2000  Enquêtes médicolégales indépendantes Enquêtes médicolégales indépendantes

    L’unité dépense environ un demi-million de dollars pour réorganiser sa Section d’identification médicolégale. Cette réorganisation inclut l’embauche d’une équipe hautement qualifiée de superviseurs des services d’identification médicolégale, d’enquêteurs spécialisés en sciences judiciaires et de spécialistes de la reconstitution des collisions. De plus, un nouveau laboratoire de sciences judiciaires est conçu et équipé d’installations ultramodernes : équipement vidéo et photographique numérique, multiples salles d’examen des cas, étuves, chambre de fumigation pour révélation d’empreintes, étuve chimique et tachéomètres. De plus, l’équipe des services d’identification médicolégale est équipée de quatre véhicules pour les cas complexes. Ces véhicules sont stationnés stratégiquement à différents endroits de la province.

    Par ailleurs, l’UES dispose maintenant d’une section d’identification médicolégale dont la capacité est à la hauteur de celle de tous les services de police de l’Ontario, sauf le plus grand de ces services. Même si l’UES continue d’utiliser les services spécialisés d’autres organismes, comme le Centre des sciences judiciaires et le Bureau du coroner, sa section interne de sciences judiciaires contribue à l’indépendance et à l’intégrité de ses enquêtes.

  • Février 2002  Comité-ressource du directeur Comité-ressource du directeur

    Le Comité-ressource du directeur (CRD) est établi afin de favoriser l’établissement de liens de communications et de fournir un forum d’échanges réguliers entre l’UES et la collectivité. Ce comité se réunit deux fois par an et examine des questions touchant les opérations de l’UES en général ainsi que des questions particulières. En 2010, à la suite de la création du Bureau du directeur indépendant de l'examen de la police (BDIEP) le 19 octobre 2009, les directeurs de chacun de ces deux organismes décident de tenir ces réunions conjointement. Le CRD est composé de dirigeants de diverses communautés ethniques et groupes d’intérêt.

  • Août 2002  Deuxième examen par le juge Adams

    En août 2002, le procureur général charge, une nouvelle fois, M. Adams de procéder à une étude consultative afin d’évaluer la mise en œuvre des réformes de l’Unité des enquêtes spéciales qu’il avait préconisées en 1999.

  • Février 2003  Deuxième rapport Adams

    Le deuxième rapport de M. Adams, « Rapport d'étude sur les réformes de l'Unité des enquêtes spéciales rédigé à l'intention du procureur général de l'Ontario» est publié en février 2003.Ce rapport conclut que grâce à l’augmentation du financement public et aux modifications réglementaires, la confiance de la police – tout comme celle de la collectivité – envers l’UES s’est améliorée et l’UES dispose désormais d’un cadre efficace pour ses enquêtes.

  • Avril 2003  John Sutherland, directeur intérimaire John Sutherland, directeur intérimaire

    John Sutherland est d’abord nommé directeur intérimaire. Il est ensuite nommé directeur en décembre 2003, poste qu’il occupe jusqu’au mois d’avril 2004.

  • Avril 2004  James Cornish, directeur intérimaire James Cornish, directeur intérimaire

    James Cornish est d’abord nommé directeur intérimaire de l’UES. Par la suite, en décembre 2004, il est nommé directeur, poste qu’il occupe jusqu’au mois d’octobre 2008.

  • Avril 2006  Coordonnatrice des services aux personnes concernées

    L’UES crée le poste de coordonnateur des services aux personnes concernées (CSPC) afin de répondre concrètement aux besoins sociaux des personnes touchées par ses enquêtes.

  • 2007  Vision, mission et valeurs

    L’Unité formalise l’énoncé de sa vision, de sa mission et de ses valeurs dans le cadre du processus de « tableau de bord prospectif ».

  • 2008  Modernisation du parc de véhicules Modernisation du parc de véhicules

    Le parc de véhicules des services d’identification médicolégale est amélioré par l’ajout de quatre nouvelles fourgonnettes Dodge Sprinter. En plus d’être entièrement équipées de matériel d’identification médicolégale, ces fourgonnettes sont plus spacieuses, consomment moins de carburant et ont une charge utile plus élevée. Ces véhicules sont répartis stratégiquement dans la province : Kingston, Orillia, Kitchener et Mississauga (bureau central de l’UES).  

  • Septembre 2008  Rapport de l’ombudsman

    L’ombudsman de l’Ontario, André Marin, publie le document « Une surveillance imperceptible : Enquête sur l'efficacité et la crédibilité des opérations de l'Unité des enquêtes spéciales », qui fait rapport de son enquête systémique sur les activités de l’UES.

  • Octobre 2008  Ian D. Scott, directeur Ian D. Scott, directeur

    Ian Scott est nommé directeur de l’UES

  • Décembre 2008  Enquêteurs civils

    L’Unité crée deux postes d’enquêteur débutant afin de renforcer les rangs de ses enquêteurs. Ces postes sont occupés par deux enquêteurs civils qui n’ont aucun antécédent professionnel dans les services policiers. De plus, l’UES crée deux nouveaux postes d’enquêteur principal afin de faire face à l’augmentation de sa charge de travail.

  • Mai 2009  Coordonnateur des services de liaison

    L’UES a embauché sa première coordonnatrice des services de liaison afin de répondre au besoin d’établir des contacts avec les nombreuses et diverses communautés de l’Ontario. La coordonnatrice des services de liaison travaille avec les organisations communautaires et les groupes d’intérêts afin de mieux faire connaître l’Unité, son mandat et ses méthodes d’enquête. Ses fonctions visent aussi à cerner les sujets de préoccupation et à agir de façon proactive de façon à régler les problèmes et à renforcer les relations avec les communautés.

  • Décembre 2009  L’unité de commande mobile L’unité de commande mobile

    L’UES fait l’acquisition de l’unité de commande mobile (UCM). L’UCM permet aux enquêteurs de disposer d’un endroit sur les lieux d’un incident où ils peuvent se réunir et établir une stratégie, mener les entrevues avec les témoins et maintenir une présence visible indépendante de la police. Cette unité de 31 x 9 pieds est entièrement équipée la technologie audiovisuelle nécessaire pour recueillir et enregistrer les témoignages.  

^ Retour à la liste des décennies

Les années 2010

  • 14 Décembre 2011  Rapport: Le sabordage de la surveillance

    Le 14 décembre 2011, l'ombudsman de l'Ontario, M. André Marin, a publié un rapport de suivi intitulé « Le sabordage de la surveillance ».  En ce qui concerne les progrès réalisés par l’UES, M. Marin a dit : « D’après mon examen, je suis convaincu que l’UES a beaucoup fait pour réorienter ses operations… »  Le rapport se focalise sur la mise en œuvre, par le ministère du Procureur général, des recommandations contenues dans le rapport de l'ombudsman de 2008.  M. Marin a réitéré quelques-unes de recommandations destinées au ministère et au gouvernement de l'Ontario. Une grande partie d'entre elles soulignent le besoin d'apporter des réformes legislatives.