Organizational Chart

Led by the Director, the SIU consists of roughly 85 staff members. Members bring with them a wide breadth of knowledge and experience in both the investigative and administrative roles.

The SIU’s civilian investigators are the front line of the Unit, its "face" in the community.  In compliance with the Police Services Act and internal operating procedures, investigators conduct objective, fair, unbiased and timely investigations into incidents of serious injury and death which may have resulted from criminal offences committed by police officers.

Four investigative supervisors (three full-time and one acting supervisor position), two forensic identification supervisors and 14 investigators work out of the SIU’s Mississauga head office. Of the 14 investigators, 8 have no previous policing backgrounds.  Rather, their investigative experience comes from having worked in areas such as national security and intelligence, immigration, the legal profession, workplace health and safety, and professional regulation. 

Further to this, a total of 39 regional investigators and 10 forensic investigators are stationed across the province and deployed on an as-needed basis. This blend allows the head office to oversee and manage investigations, while retaining the flexibility to respond quickly to incident scenes across the province with investigators who reside closer to the scenes. 

To fulfill its mandate effectively, the SIU is also supported by an Executive Officer, Legal Counsel, Administrative Manager, Communications Coordinator, Outreach Coordinator, Training Coordinator, and an administrative staff composed of transcribers, a central registry clerk, a budget and inventory clerk, an information technology systems analyst and administrative assistants.

For an in-depth look at the various roles at the SIU, please click on the corresponding job title on the org chart below.

SIU Org Chart Director Exec. Director Council Administrative Manager Administrative Coordinator Investigative Managers Forensic identification Managers Communications Coordinator Outreach Coordinator training Coordinator Affected Persons Coordinator Full-time Investigators Forensic Identification Investigators

Organigramme

Avec, à sa tête, le directeur, l’UES a un effectif d’environ 85 personnes. Ses membres possèdent un vaste éventail de connaissances et d’expérience en matière d’enquête et d’administration.

Les enquêteurs civils de l’UES sont la première ligne de l’Unité, son « visage » dans la collectivité. Conformément à la Loi sur les services policiers et aux procédures opérationnelles internes, les enquêteurs mènent des enquêtes de façon objective, juste, sans préjugés et dans les meilleurs délais sur les incidents à l’origine d’une blessure grave ou d’un décès qui pourrait résulter d’une infraction criminelle commise par des agents de police.

Quatre superviseurs des enquêtes (trois à plein temps et un poste de superviseur intérimaire), deux superviseurs des services d'identification médicolégale et 14 enquêteurs travaillent depuis le bureau central de l’UES, à Mississauga. De ces 14 enquêteurs, 8 n’ont aucun antécédent professionnel dans la police. Au contraire, ils ont acquis leur expérience en matière d’enquêtes en travaillant dans des domaines comme la sécurité et le renseignement nationaux, l’immigration, la profession juridique, la santé et la sécurité au travail et la réglementation professionnelle.

En outre, 39 enquêteurs régionaux et 10 enquêteurs spécialistes des sciences judiciaires sont postés à  divers endroits de la province et déployés selon les besoins. Cette structure permet au bureau central de superviser et de gérer les enquêtes, tout en maintenant la souplesse nécessaire pour faire intervenir rapidement, n’importe où dans la province, des enquêteurs résidant plus près du lieu de l’incident.
Pour s’acquitter de sa mission, l’UES a aussi le soutien des personnes occupant les postes suivants : chef enquêteur, avocat, chef de l’administration, coordonnateur des communications, coordonnateur des services de liaison, coordonnateur de la formation, ainsi que du personnel administratif composé de transcripteurs, d’un commis au registre central, d’un commis au budget et aux stocks, d’un analyste fonctionnel et d’adjoints administratifs.
Pour obtenir une description plus détaillée des diverses fonctions au sein de l’UES, veuillez cliquer sur le titre du poste sur l’organigramme ci-dessous.

Organigramme Directeur Chef enquêteur Avocat Chef de l'administration Coordonnateur des services administratifs Responsables des enquêtes Responsables des services d'identification médicolégale Coordonnateur des communications Coordonnateur de la liaison Formation Coordonnateur des services aux personnes concernées Enquêteurs à temps plein Enquêteurs spécialistes des sciences judiciaires