HelicopterSun photoPistol
thick blue gradient line

Training

In addition to the knowledge, skills and experience that many of our investigative staff bring with them, and under the direction of the Unit’s Training Coordinator, investigators receive training in a number of disciplines that are essential to the position.

If you wish to apply for employment as an SIU investigator, an extensive background in both investigation and investigative interviewing is important.  A number of our non-police personnel have experience with both federal and provincial investigative agencies.

The Unit is also committed to providing an environment for continued growth and learning for all staff. With respect to the “core” courses that are taught at either the Ontario or Canadian Police Colleges, the SIU strives to have all investigators (forensic investigators aside) trained in the various disciplines.  Below is the list of core courses, with the percentage of SIU investigators that possess each accreditation:

  • General Investigation Training (100%);
  • Investigative Interviewing (75%);
  • Homicide Investigation (52%); and
  • Sexual Assault Investigation (98%, by January 2011)

HelicopterStreet sceneSun photo
thick blue gradient line

Formation

Parallèlement aux connaissances, compétences et expérience que nos enquêteurs possèdent déjà et sous la direction du coordonnateur de la formation de l’Unité, les enquêteurs reçoivent de la formation dans un certain nombre de disciplines essentielles à l’exécution de leurs fonctions.

Si vous souhaitez postuler pour un poste d’enquêteur de l’UES, il est important que vous possédiez suffisamment de connaissances et d’expérience dans la conduite d’enquêtes et d’entrevues. Certaines personnes, qui ne sont pas des agents de police, ont acquis une telle expérience au sein d’organismes d’enquête fédéraux ou provinciaux.

L’Unité est aussi déterminée à offrir un milieu de travail qui favorise la progression et l’apprentissage continus de tous les membres de son personnel. L’UES s’efforce de faire suivre à tous ses enquêteurs (mis à part les enquêteurs spécialistes des sciences judiciaires) les cours de base du Collège de police de l’Ontario ou du Collège canadien de police. Voici une liste de cours de base en question avec, pour chacun, le pourcentage des enquêteurs de l’UES qui ont reçu l’agrément.

  • Formation générale en conduite d’enquêtes (100 %)
  • Entrevues dans le cadre d’une d’enquête (75 %)
  • Enquêtes sur les homicides (52 %);
  • Enquêtes sur les agressions sexuelles (98 % d’ici janvier 2011).