DoctorFingerprintCells
thick blue gradient line

Balancing Transparency

In all cases the SIU attempts to strike a proper balance between disclosing as much information as possible to the public while keeping in mind the need to protect witness confidentiality and to guard the rights to privacy that are protected by law.  

There are a number of investigative protocols and legislative restraints the SIU must keep in mind when considering the release of information on a case:

  • Sensitivity of evidentiary information
  • Balancing fair trial interests                                     
  • Regulation 267/10
  • Confidentiality Assurances
  • Freedom of Information & Protection of Privacy    Act
  • Youth Criminal Justice Act

 

The SIU has an established policy when responding to requests for information from third parties. In the case of complainants and the families of deceased persons and/or their representatives, the SIU makes every effort to provide information regarding the SIU and what it does, and the path of the investigative process is shared on an ongoing basis.  The objective is to provide a realistic expectation of the investigation, while helping individuals deal with the distress caused by an incident.  At the conclusion of a case, an investigator will give notice of the Director’s decision and if requested provide a debriefing of the investigation.  

During the course of an investigation, there are two sections of Ontario Regulation 267/10 which govern the role of police and the SIU in releasing case information. These are:

Regulation 267/10

 

Section 12

  • Police force may disclose to any person the fact that the SIU Director has been notified of an incident, and is conducting an investigation into it.
  • Except as permitted by this regulation, the police force and members of the police force shall not, during the course of any investigation by the SIU, disclose to any person information with respect to the incident or the investigation
  • A police officer appointed under the Interprovincial Policing Act, 2009 may disclose the information to his or her extra-provincial commander during the course of the investigation; or 
  • That the chief of police of the police force of which a police officer appointed under the Interprovincial Policing Act, 2009 is deemed to be a member may disclose the information during the course of the investigation to,
    • (i) the extra-provincial commander of the officer, or
    • (ii) an appointing official as defined in that Act if the chief of police is not such an official and the investigation relates to the officer. O. Reg. 267/10, s. 12 (2).


Section 13

  • The SIU shall not, during the course of an investigation by the SIU, make any public statement about the investigation unless such statement is aimed at preserving the integrity of the investigation.

 

Until the investigation has been completed, preserving the integrity of the investigation is paramount and limits communication of information regarding the progress of the investigation. Where a charge has been laid against an officer, the SIU must limit the information it discloses in the interest of ensuring fairness of trial proceedings.

The Unit’s Communications Coordinator also attempts to provide informative news releases at the conclusion of investigations, making key facts and outcomes public.

Disclosure of Director’s Reports

Pursuant to section 113 of the Police Services Act, the Director shall report the results of investigations to the Attorney General. These reports are confidential documents that are only shared with the Attorney General

The Director’s Report contains the following information:

  • documents and information such as witness statements,
  • statements of the complainant
  • sensitive and personal information about officers and witnesses
  • scene photographs and videos

 

Disclosure of SIU’s investigative file is limited to protect::

  • the fairness of related investigations and/or proceedings such as parallel criminal investigations, Coroner’s investigations, civil lawsuits and inquests
  • the privacy of potential witnesses; the SIU assures both police and civilian witnesses that their statements will only be used as part of the SIU investigation and will not be disclosed to third parties without consent. Any breach of privacy inherent in the disclosure of witness statements may threaten SIU investigations and any prospective public cooperation with the SIU.  Witnesses are sometimes reluctant to cooperate with an agency engaged in investigations of possible criminal conduct on the part of police officers.  Information being essential to an investigative agency, this reluctance can pose real obstacles in the investigative process.  It is with a view to securing the confidence, trust and cooperation of witnesses that the SIU has a long standing policy of assuring its witnesses of confidentiality.

 

All criminal investigative agencies are concerned about the potential impact of the release of information on the integrity of their investigations. The recollections of honest witnesses may be compromised, while other witnesses may be tempted to colour their evidence having regard to what they have heard.

CellsBulletFingerprint
thick blue gradient line

La transparence – un équilibre fragile

Dans tous les cas, l’UES s’efforce d’atteindre un juste équilibre entre la divulgation d’autant de renseignements que possible au public et le respect du besoin de protéger la confidentialité des témoins, notamment le respect de la vie privée conformément à la loi.

Il existe un certain nombre de protocoles d’enquêtes et de restrictions prévues par la loi dont l’UES doit tenir compte lorsqu’elle décide des renseignements à divulguer sur un cas particulier :

  • sensibilité des renseignements sur les éléments de preuve;
  • nécessité d’assurer un procès équitable;
  • Règlement 267/10;
  • garanties de confidentialité;
  • Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée;    
  • Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents.

L’UES applique une politique bien établie pour répondre aux demandes d’information formulées par des tiers. Dans le cas des plaignants, de la famille des défunts et/ou de leurs représentants, l’UES fait tout son possible pour fournir des renseignements sur son rôle et sur le déroulement de son enquête. L’objectif est de leur fournir une idée réaliste de ce qu’ils peuvent attendre de l’enquête, tout en les aidant à surmonter la détresse causée par l’incident. À la conclusion de l’enquête, un enquêteur les avisera de la décision du directeur et, s’ils en ont fait la demande, leur donnera un compte rendu de l’enquête.

Au cours de l’enquête, deux articles du Règlement de l’Ontario 267/10 gouvernent le rôle de la  police et de l’UES en ce qui concerne la divulgation de renseignements. Il s’agit des articles suivants :

Règlement 267/10


Article 12
  • Le corps de police peut divulguer à toute personne le fait que le directeur de l'UES a été avisé d'un incident et qu'il fait enquête à ce sujet.
  • Sauf dans la mesure permise par le présent règlement, le corps de police et les membres d’un corps de police ne doivent pas, au cours d’une enquête de l’UES sur un incident, divulguer à qui que ce soit des renseignements sur l’incident ou l’enquête.
  • un agent de police nommé en vertu de la Loi de 2009 sur les services policiers interprovinciaux peut divulguer les renseignements à son commandant extraprovincial pendant l’enquête;
  • le chef de police du corps de police dont un agent de police nommé en vertu de la Loi de 2009 sur les services policiers interprovinciaux est réputé membre peut divulguer les renseignements pendant l’enquête :

(i) soit au commandant extraprovincial de l’agent de police,

(ii) soit à un agent de nomination au sens de cette loi si le chef de police n’est pas un agent de nomination et que l’enquête porte sur l’agent de police.


Article 13
  • L’UES ne doit pas, pendant son enquête, faire de déclaration publique sur l’enquête, à moins que la déclaration n’ait pour but de préserver l’intégrité de l’enquête.

Tant que l’enquête n’est pas terminée, la préservation de son intégrité est essentielle et limite la quantité et la nature des renseignements qui peuvent être divulgués concernant sa progression. Lorsqu’une accusation est portée contre un agent de police, l’UES doit nécessairement limiter l’étendue des renseignements qu’elle divulgue afin de ne pas compromettre l’impartialité des instances judiciaires qui en découleront.

La coordonnatrice des communications de l’Unité s’efforce de fournir des communiqués de presse informatifs à la conclusion des enquêtes, en rendant publics les principaux faits et résultats.

Divulgation des rapports du directeur

Conformément à l’article 113 de la Loi sur les services policiers, le directeur doit faire rapport des résultats des enquêtes au procureur général. Ces rapports sont confidentiels et ne sont communiqués qu’au procureur général.

Le rapport du directeur sur une enquête contient les renseignements suivants :
  • documents et renseignements, notamment les déclarations des témoins;
  • déclarations du plaignant;
  • information personnelle et sensible sur les agents et les témoins;
  • photographies et vidéos du lieu de l’incident.

La divulgation du dossier d’enquête de l’UES est limitée afin de protéger :
  • l’impartialité des enquêtes ou instances connexes, comme les enquêtes criminelles menées en parallèle, des investigations du Coroner, des instances civiles et des enquêtes publiques;
  • le respect de la vie privée des témoins possibles : l’UES donne aux témoins civils et policiers l’assurance que leurs déclarations seront utilisées aux seules fins de l’enquête de l’UES et qu’elles ne seront pas divulguées à des tiers sans leur consentement. Tout manquement au respect de la confidentialité des témoignages pourrait compromettre les enquêtes de l’UES ainsi que la coopération du public par la suite. Les témoins hésitent parfois à coopérer avec un organisme chargé d’enquêter sur la conduite possiblement criminelle d’agents de police. Le recueil de renseignements étant essentiel à l’efficacité de tout organisme d’enquête, la réticence des témoins possibles constitue un véritable obstacle à la conduite des enquêtes. Afin de gagner la confiance des témoins et d’obtenir leur coopération, l’UES a depuis longtemps pour politique de garantir à ses témoins la confidentialité de leurs déclarations.

 

Tous les organismes chargés d’enquêtes criminelles se soucient des répercussions possibles de la divulgation d’information sur l’intégrité de leurs enquêtes. Les souvenirs des témoins honnêtes pourraient être compromis, tandis que d’autres témoins pourraient être tentés d’ajouter à leur témoignage des détails qu’ils ont entendu ailleurs.