FingerprintDoctorBullet
thick blue gradient line

What We Do

The SIU is a civilian law enforcement agency, independent of the police, that conducts criminal investigations into circumstances involving police and civilians that have resulted in serious injury, death or allegations of sexual assault. In the course of its investigations, the Unit gathers and assesses evidence, and the Director of the SIU decides whether or not the evidence leads to the reasonable belief that a criminal offence has been committed. If the Director forms such a belief, she or he shall lay a criminal charge against the officer(s), and that charge will then be prosecuted by the Crown Attorney.  If the Director does not form such a belief, she or he cannot lay a criminal charge against the officer(s).

Mandate

The mandate of the SIU is to maintain confidence in Ontario’s police services by assuring the public that police actions resulting in serious injury, death, or allegations of sexual assault are subjected to rigorous, independent investigations.    Incidents which fall within this mandate must be reported to the SIU by the police service involved and/or may be reported by the complainant or any other person.

The objective of every SIU investigation is to determine whether there is evidence of criminal wrongdoing on the part of the police. It is not to determine whether the involved officer(s) may have committed some lesser offence, such as the breach of a provincial law or professional misconduct under the Code of Conduct of police officers.

Jurisdiction

The SIU investigates incidents across Ontario, and has jurisdiction over all municipal, regional and provincial police officers. This represents 53 police services and approximately 26,148 officers.

The Unit’s investigative jurisdiction is limited to those incidents where there is a serious injury (including sexual assault allegations) or death in cases involving the police. Complaints about police conduct that do not meet these criteria are referred to other agencies, such as the Office of the Independent Police Review Director or an appropriate police service.

The legislative framework for the SIU is set out in section 113 of the Police Services Act (PSA). Prior to the formation of the SIU, police forces investigated themselves, or in some instances, another police force was assigned to conduct the investigation. The public came to believe that such internal investigations lacked the necessary objectivity required of policing. Section 113 of the PSA resulted from the 1989 Task Force on Race Relations and Policing Report.

Following years of criticism and tension between the SIU and the police, the PSA was revisited once more to address issues of cooperation. The Consultation Report of the Honourable George W. Adams, Q.C. to the Attorney General and Solicitor General Concerning Police Cooperation with the Special Investigations Unit made 25 recommendations to make the SIU more effective and address SIU and police cooperation.  The most significant of these involved an increase in the SIU’s funding commensurate with its mandate and the enactment of a legal framework to clearly set out the responsibilities and duties of police officers during SIU investigations. Such a regulation - Ontario Regulation 267/10  under the PSA (formerly Ontario Regulation 673/98) – first came into effect on January 1, 1999.

CellsFingerprintBullet
thick blue gradient line

Ce que nous faisons

L’UES est un organisme civil d’application de la loi, indépendant de la police, qui mène des enquêtes criminelles sur les incidents qui mettent en cause des agents de police et des civils et qui sont à l’origine de blessures graves, de décès ou d’allégation d’agression sexuelle. Dans le cadre de ses enquêtes, l’UES recueille et évalue des éléments de preuve, et son directeur décide si ces éléments permettent raisonnablement de croire qu’une infraction criminelle a été commise. Si le directeur parvient à cette conclusion, il dépose une accusation au criminel à l’encontre de l’agent ou des agents en question et renvoie l’affaire au procureur de la Couronne pour qu’il engage une poursuite. Dans le cas contraire, il ne peut pas déposer d’accusation au criminel.

Mandat

L’UES a pour mandat de maintenir la confiance du public dans les services policiers de l’Ontario en veillant à ce que les blessures graves, les décès et les allégations d’agression sexuelle liés à la conduite de la police fassent l’objet d’enquêtes indépendantes et rigoureuses. Les inncidents qui relèvent de ce mandat doivent être signalés à l’UES par le service de police concerné et peuvent aussi être signalés par le plaignant ou toute autre personne.

Chaque enquête de l’UES vise à déterminer s’il y a des preuves d’action fautive criminelle de la part de la police. Elle ne vise pas à déterminer s’il y a des motifs de croire que l’agent ou les agents en question ont commis une infraction de moindre gravité, par exemple une infraction à une loi provinciale ou une faute professionnelle en vertu du code de déontologie de la police.

Compétence

L’UES enquête sur des incidents partout en Ontario et a compétence sur tous les agents de police municipaux, régionaux et provinciaux, soit 53 services de police et environ 26 148 agents de police.

La compétence de l’Unité se limite aux incidents où il y a eu une blessure grave (y compris une allégation d’agression sexuelle) ou un décès et où la police est en cause. Les plaintes portant sur la conduite de la police dans des circonstances qui ne répondent pas à ces critères sont adressées à d’autres organismes, par exemple le Bureau du directeur indépendant de l'examen de la police (BDIEP) ou le service de police approprié.

Le cadre législatif régissant l’UES est établi dans l’article 113 de la Loi sur les services policiers. Avant la création de l’UES, les services de police enquêtaient eux-mêmes sur les incidents les concernant ou, dans certains cas, l’enquête était confiée à autre service de police. Le public avait le sentiment que ce genre d’enquêtes à l’interne ne garantissait pas l’objectivité nécessaire. L’article 113 de la Loi sur les services policiers est le résultat des recommandations formulées par le Groupe d'étude sur les relations entre la police et les minorités raciales dans son rapport de 1989.

Après des années de critiques et de tension entre l’UES et la police, la Loi sur les services policiers a été réexaminée une nouvelle fois pour régler les questions de coopération. Le « rapport Adams I » (Consultation Report of the Honourable George W. Adams, Q.C. to the Attorney General and Solicitor General Concerning Police Cooperation with the Special Investigations Unit) contenait 25 recommandations visant à renforcer l’efficacité de l’UES et à régler la question de la coopération entre l’UES et la police. Les plus importantes de ces recommandations étaient de doter l’UES des ressources nécessaires pour s’acquitter de son important mandat et d’établir un cadre réglementaire énonçant clairement les responsabilités et obligations de la police dans le cadre des enquêtes de l’UES. Un tel règlement, le Règlement de l'Ontario 267/10 (autrefois le Règlement de l’Ontario 673/98), pris en application de la Loi sur les services policiers, est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1999.