What We Can Investigate

Mandate


The legislative framework for the SIU is set out in the Special Investigations Unit Act, 2019.

The mandate of the SIU is to nurture confidence in Ontario’s police services and select special constables and peace officers by assuring the public that the actions of these officials resulting in serious injury, death, the discharge of a firearm or an allegation of sexual assault are subjected to rigorous, independent investigations. Incidents which fall within this mandate must be reported to the SIU by the organization which employs the involved official and/or may be reported by any other person or organization.

The objective of every SIU investigation is to determine whether there is evidence of criminal wrongdoing on the part of the official. It is not to determine whether the involved official(s) may have committed some lesser offence, such as a breach of a provincial law or professional misconduct.


Jurisdiction


The SIU investigates incidents across Ontario, and has jurisdiction over all municipal, regional and provincial police officers. This represents 47 police services and upwards of 23,000 officers. On December 1, 2020, the SIU was also given jurisdiction over special constables employed by the Niagara Parks Commission and peace officers with the Legislative Protective Service. 

The Unit’s investigative jurisdiction is limited to those incidents involving officials where there is a serious injury, death, allegation of sexual assault or discharge of a firearm by an official at a person. 
A person sustains a serious injury if the injury in question is likely to interfere with the person’s health or comfort and is not transient or trifling in nature.  A serious injury includes: 

  • an injury that results in admission to a hospital;
  • a fracture to the skull, or to a limb, rib or vertebra;
  • burns to a significant proportion of a person’s body;
  • the loss of any portion of a person’s body; or
  • a loss of vision or hearing.
Complaints regarding lack of service, policy, or improper conduct by an official (e.g. allegations of racial profiling, harassment, corruption, or use of force without serious injury) should be referred to the appropriate police service or to the Office of the Independent Police Review Director (OIPRD). While such complaints may require further investigation, complaints such as these do not fall within the mandate of the SIU.


Off-duty Officers


The SIU normally investigates incidents when the official was on duty, but will investigate off-duty incidents if the official was 
a. engaged in the investigation, pursuit, detention or arrest of a person or otherwise exercised the powers of a police officer, special constable or peace officer, as the case may be, whether or not the official intended to exercise such powers or identified him or herself as a person who may exercise such powers, or
b. the incident involved equipment or other property issued to the official in relation to his or her duties.

Les cas où nous pouvons enquêter

Mandat


L’UES est régie par la Loi de 2019 sur l’Unité des enquêtes spéciales.

Le mandat de l’UES vise à renforcer la confiance dans les services de police de l’Ontario et dans certaines catégories d’agents spéciaux et d’agents de la paix, en assurant au public que les actes de ces agents susceptibles d’avoir causé des blessures graves, un décès, la décharge d’une arme à feu ou une allégation d’agression sexuelle font l’objet d’enquêtes rigoureuses et indépendantes. Les incidents qui relèvent de ce mandat doivent être signalés à l’UES par l’organisation qui emploie l’agent en question et peuvent être signalés par toute autre personne ou organisation.

L’objectif de chaque enquête de l’UES est de déterminer s’il existe des preuves d’acte criminel commis par un agent. Une enquête ne vise pas à déterminer si l’agent ou les agents en question ont commis une infraction de moindre gravité, par exemple une infraction à une loi provinciale ou une faute professionnelle.

Compétence


L’UES enquête sur des incidents partout en Ontario et a compétence sur tous les agents de police municipaux, régionaux et provinciaux, soit 47 services de police et plus de 23 000 agents de police. Depuis le 1er décembre 2020, l’UES a également compétence sur les agents spéciaux employés par la Commission des parcs du Niagara et sur les agents de la paix du Service de sécurité de l’Assemblée législative. 

La compétence d’enquête de l’UES se limite aux incidents mettant en cause des agents et impliquant une blessure grave, un décès, une allégation d’agression sexuelle ou la décharge d’une arme à feu par un agent sur une personne. 

Une blessure est grave si elle est susceptible d’avoir des répercussions sur la santé ou le confort de la personne qui l’a subie et elle n’est pas de nature passagère ou bénigne. Une personne subit une blessure grave dans les cas suivants : 

  • elle subit une blessure pour laquelle elle est admise à l’hôpital;
  • elle souffre d’une fracture du crâne, d’un membre, d’une côte ou d’une vertèbre;
  • elle souffre de brûlures sur une grande partie du corps;
  • elle a perdu une partie du corps;
  • elle subit une perte de la vision ou de l’ouïe.

Les plaintes concernant un manque perçu de service, les politiques d’un service policier ou la conduite inappropriée d’un agent (p. ex., allégations de profilage racial, de harcèlement, de corruption ou d’utilisation de la force n’ayant pas entraîné de blessure grave) devraient être adressées au service de police concerné ou au Bureau du directeur indépendant de l’examen de la police (BDIEP). Même si de telles plaintes peuvent justifier une enquête, elles ne relèvent pas du mandat de l’UES.

Agents en période de repos


En règle générale, l’UES enquête sur les incidents mettant en cause un agent qui était en service. Néanmoins, l’UES mènera une enquête, même si l’agent était en période de repos, si, selon le cas :
a. l’agent a participé à une enquête sur une personne ou à la poursuite, à la détention ou à l’arrestation d’une personne ou a autrement exercé les pouvoirs d’un agent de police, d’un agent spécial ou d’un agent de la paix, selon le cas, que l’agent ait eu ou non l’intention d’exercer de tels pouvoirs ou qu’il se soit présenté ou non comme une personne pouvant exercer de tels pouvoirs;
b. l’incident mettait en cause de l’équipement ou d’autres biens délivrés à l’agent dans le cadre de ses fonctions.